Palace of Mysore Tour

The Palace of Mysore is a historical and famous palace in the city of Mysore in Karnataka, southern India. It is the formal residence and seat of the Wodeyars the Maharajas of Mysore, the royal family of Mysore, who ruled the princely state from 1399 to 1950. The palace homes two durbar halls ceremonial conference halls of the royal court and incorporates a enchanting and huge range of courtyards, gardens, and buildings. The palace is in the central area of inner Mysore and is facing the Chamundi Hills eastward.


Mysore is generally identified as the City of Palaces. There are about seven palaces inclusive of this. However, Mysore Palace relates especially to the one within the Old Fort which was built by the Maharaja Rajarshi His Highness Krishnarajendra Wadiyar IV. This Palace is now one of the most popular tourist destinations in India after the Taj Mahal. Is has more than 6 million tourists yearly.

Temples inside the palace

1. Someshvara Temple, dedicated to God Lord Shiva.
2. Lakshmiramana Temple, dedicated to God Lord Vishnu.
3. Shwetha Varahaswamy Temple, dedicated to Lord Varahaswamy, one of the 10 incarnations of lord Vishnu.
4. Sri Prasanna krishna Swami Temple.
5. Sri Bhuvaneshwari Temple.
6. Kodi Someshwaraswami Temple.
7. Sri Gayatri Temple.
8. Sri Trineshwara temple.


Journey to Mysore

By Air : The nearby airport is the Bangalore international airport (which is 140 km from here).

By Train: Mysuru is well connected by railways from all the parts of the country. Traveling by train is the easiest way to reach the palace.

By Bus: Bus services are available every 5 minutes from Bangalore. Luxury and normal buses are also available.

For more information please visit KSRTC Website

Mysore Palace Timings

Everyday : 10.00am – 05.30pm.

Illumination Timings:

Sundays and Public Holidays : 07.00pm – 07.30pm.

Mysore Palace Fees

Adults Rs.40
Children below 10 years : Free Entrance
Children between 10 – 18 Years : Rs.20
Educational Tour (Letter from School Management) : Rs.10
Foreigners : Rs.200



1. Tourists not allowed to take photographs inside the palace.
2. Audio Kit available at Mysore Palace in the following Country/Languages  : English, Hindi, Kannada, German, Italian, Japanese and French.
3. The Palace has four entrance, Main entrance is called “Jaya Maarthaanda” to east, “Jayarama” to North,”Balarama” to South, “Varaha” to west. Public Entry is from Varaha Gate.

Facilities inside Mysore Palace

1. Clean Environment
2. Braille Guide for Visually Challenged Tourists
3. Audio Kit Facility for Indians (Optional) and Foreign Visitors (Included in Entrance Fee)
4. Battery Operated Vehicle
5. Sound and Light Program regarding History of Mysuru Palace / Wodeyar Dynasty (Latest info on Notice Board)
6. Free Camera Custody Counter.
7. Free Cycle Facility for Tourists to cycle inside Palace to see the garden and temples
8. Free Umbrella Facility for Tourists to avoid rains or bright sun.
9. Free Wheel Chair Facility.
10. Free Drinking Water Facility
11. Free Toilet Facility
12. Free Stand for Footwear
13. Govt approved Guides to provide information to Tourists inside Mysuru Palace
14. Parking Facility for Vehicles
15. Post Card Photographs of Mysuru Palace for Sale
16. Hand Book regarding History of Mysuru Palace for Sale

Mysore Palace Location

Sayyaji Rao Road, Mysore (Mysuru), Karnataka 570001
Phone Number: 0821-2421051
Director Office: 0821-2421051
Deputy Director Office: 0821-2421051
Fax: 0821-2434425
Palace Assistant Commissioner of Police: 0821-2430404
Electrical Sub Division: 0821-2421521
For any Complaints and Suggestions. Please send email to
Director :
Deputy Director :

Related posts:

Categories:   Travel Attractions